Skip to content

Getting out of my comfort zone (for the sake of others)

September 25, 2016

I was at a birthday party for the friend of my oldest daughter. It was science-themed and hosted at Moore Toy’s & Gadgets. While they conducted gummy candy and glow-in-the-dark ooze experiments, I had a bit of time to kill, so I went downstairs to the store level to explore. I was not disappointed.

Among the many toys, science kits, magic kits, puzzles, and games, I found a gem that I knew I could not leave without buying. Gamewright, maker of games that I’ve enjoyed such as In A Pickle and Forbidden Island, had a game of cards. Now, these aren’t your typical playing cards or even like any other card game I have seen. The objective of this game is to get rid of the cards… but not as in discard your hand. Each card has a task to complete, with the objective being to give away or leave the card once you have completed the task. Ultimately, you’ll have succeeded by giving away all 55 cards.

I almost didn’t buy this game. You know that nagging feeling in your head that makes you think you can’t do something or it will make you feel uncomfortable. I was hearing it in spades. A lot of these activities could take me out of my comfort zone. However, just as I found that potentially unpleasant, I also saw the amazing potential that it could do in pushing me to try things I never would do before. I knew that I needed to buy these cards.

The game is called Sneaky Cards and you are tasked with becoming “a secret agent of joy.” I decided that I would buy the deck and then coerce encourage my wife to participate with me. She is often reluctant to admit it, but appreciates me for pushing her to do things that are out of her comfort zone, as she is fairly introverted. She has agreed participate in this adventure with me.

Each week, we’re going to shuffle the deck, draw one card each, and then aim to accomplish the task as soon as possible that week. We’ll have the opportunity to trade, but both have to agree to the trade. Since she has her hands full with our three children, I anticipate that I’ll fare a bit better, but it’s not a race (something I have to repeatedly tell my children). We’ll aim to share updates on this site, beginning with our first draw later today.

Leave a Reply

