Skip to content

SneakyCards Week 5: Me and my big mouth

October 24, 2016

One benefit of traveling frequently for work was that my “leave it in a different state” challenge was easy to complete; I’m the only one of the three of us to complete the challenge we received last week. I was visiting a customer in Connecticut and intended to leave the card at the hotel for another traveler to pick up and take home with them; unfortunately, I forgot that I had it until I had to empty my pockets back at LaGuardia Airport in New York. Needless to say, a quick edit with a pen and short conversation with another airport guest and my card was on its way to Fort Lauderdale (tracking link) – three states in three days!

However, it would seem that this week I went and shot myself in the foot. As I shuffled the deck for this week’s draw, I saw the card at the bottom said, “Slip this card into someone’s locker.” I showed this card to my wife and remarked that this would be a really hard one – what grownups have lockers? I made a comment about the lockers we have at work, but nobody seems to use, so that wouldn’t be feasible. Wouldn’t you know what happened next?! Yep, I pulled that very card. Rebecca’s shows more promise as a fun challenge.

SneakyCards Week 5 Challenge

Our SneakyCards challenge cards for week 5

After thinking it through, I suppose I could still use the lockers at work, but it may take some time before someone finds it. We’ll have to wait and see!

On a side note, perhaps I was expecting too much of SneakyCards. It’s whimsical enough, but it doesn’t seem to provide ongoing excitement as a weekly challenge. My hope had been that it would push us to do things that challenge us emotionally, but many of the cards we have received do not appear to have done that. I’ll give it a few more weeks before I propose an alternate approach.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

